Europe study: Spain.			
Key Vocabulary:			Key Knowledge:
Europe	Continent north of Africa consisting of 50 different countries, bounded by Ural mountains, Arctic and Atlantic Oceans and the Mediterranean Sea.		Spain is the fourth largest country in Europe, situated on the Iberian Peninsula. It is part of the European Union.
Climate	The long-term pattern of weather.		Spanish is the official spoken language.
Currency	The money system used in a country.		The currency of Spain is the Euro.
Mediterranean	A characteristic of the Mediterranean Sea, the countries and people bordering it.		The capital of Spain is Madrid. Other large cities are Barcelona, Valencia and Seville.
Peninsula	Land that is mostly surrounded by water		Spain also has territories including the Canary Islands near Africa and the Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean Sea.
plateau	A elevated, flat area of land.		Mainland Spain is mountainous with high plateaus.
Population	The number of people that live in a place.		The climate is mainly a Mediterranean climate with hot, dry summers and mild, wet winters.
Tourism	Travel away from home for relaxation and pleasure, to visit new places.		Spain has a hereditary monarch and elected parliament.
Exports	Goods that are sent to another country to sell.	Tabernas Desert	Some of Spain's exports are citrus fruits, wine, olive and sunflower oil, energy and cars. They also have a strong tourism industry, in excess of 82,000,000 tourists per year.
Desert	A landscape with little rainfall and little or no plant or animal life.		The Tabernas Desert in south-eastern Spain, is Europe's only desert.
Territory	An area of land under the control (jurisdiction) of another country or state.	Barcelona	The population in Spain is 47.5 million.